‘ODES OF MARCH’ at San Francisco Theater Pub

Hooray! Last night, I was finally able to attend a Theater Pub event. As you know, I’ve been a huge fan of these folks since I first heard the phrase “theater in a bar.” But I’ve recently been hosting a staged reading series that conflicted with both Theater Pub and PlayGround. (Who knew that “the third Monday of the month” would be the most popular night for theater?)

Now that the readings I’m hosting are moving to the first Monday of the month, I’m free to go back. And this was such a great one to go back to. A series of Odes to all the various people who work in the theater, from the writer and producer to the lighting designer and concessions.

I’d gotten a little overloaded on theater in 2011, so I’ve been taking it slow this year, easing back into seeing stuff. What a great way to jump back in: with a tribute to all the fun people you get to hang out with when you make theater. Got me excited about getting back out there again, and what more could you ask than that?

Plus I got to talk to Marissa Skudlarek, who wrote two of my favorite odes, and I sat by my Facebook friend Robert Estes, who I didn’t even realize was directing four of the odes.

Oh, and because loyal readers surely want to know: Racer 5, an American IPA brewed with Chinook, Cascade, Columbus and Centennial hops.