Playwrights, Rewrites, Multiple Productions

My colleague Peter Sinn Nachtrieb is interviewed by my colleague Laura Brueckner and mentions a bunch of his colleagues who’ve all had rolling premieres lately. I bring this up only because this is most definitely how theater should be headed:

Three different spaces, three different casts, two directors, very different design approaches all helped stretch and test the play…. I was able to try stuff out, and then change it for the next production–and see not only where different people can make fantastic discoveries with my play, but also where maybe I was being too ambiguous or unclear; where a production where I’m not around might go astray. I think I was able to make the machine more tightly wound that way, but still keep it inviting enough that different productions can find a home in it.

On HowlRound and worth reading!

