Come see the Portuguese Artists Colony on May 27

When I write about an upcoming event, I try to keep it focused on things that somehow involve me, in order to maintain the proper amount of narcissism for this thing to legally be called a blog. (Otherwise it’s just a website.)

But today I want to highlight a thing that, yes, I will be attending — but that will not feature me in any way. It’s the latest edition of the Portuguese Artists Colony‘s show, and it’s got some great guests:

Local singer-songwriter David Berkeley wrote most of the songs from his latest album Some Kind of Cure while living in a 40-person village in the mountains of Corsica. He also penned a memoir called 140 Goats and a Guitar, which tells the stories that inspired those songs.

Jane Ganahl has been a journalist, author, editor and arts producer in San Francisco for 30 years. She is the co-founder and co-director of Litquake, the West Coast’s largest independent literary festival. She is also the author of the memoir Naked on the Page: the Misadventures of My Unmarried Midlife.

Plus, a new play by Daniel Heath! Follow-ups from live writing winners Linette Escobar and Kevin Hunsanger! Music from Miss Erma Band! Live writing by Julie Greicius, Douglas Henderson, Ira Marlowe and Ethel Rohan! And it’s all hosted by Cary Tennis!

Now you could technically say it involves me, because I am one of the newest colonists. But for the last two shows, I either hosted or read. This one I will maybe, maybe, take your money at the door and steer you to the bar. Speaking of the bar, yes, there’s a bar, because the show is here:

Hotel Rex
562 Sutter Street
In the Salon, just behind the Library Bar
San Francisco
Sunday, May 27
Show at 5:00 pm

Sliding scale $5-10

