Diminishing The ‘Hat’? About That Casting Controversy

Diminishing The ‘Hat’? About That Casting Controversy

Stephen Adly Guirgis on the casting of non-Hispanic actors in the roles of Puerto Rican characters in a production of his play:

What I saw on that stage was young, white, otherwise talented actors who were regrettably ill-equipped to even approach a three dimensional rendering of the characters they were assigned to portray. And the entirely white audience on the night I saw the show ate it up like pie. It was surreal. I felt like I was in a time warp. It felt like I was witnessing something that I had only read about in history books. It felt like a modern day minstrel show. And all this in a city with a 40 percent Latino population, and in a play cast, not in Indiana or Wyoming, but New York City and Hartford.

