Clarence Coo Is Coming!

The Playwrights Foundation announced the lineup for the 34th annual Bay Area Playwrights Festival — and one of them is my old Great Plains Theater Conference roomie Clarence Coo!

I had a fantastic time in Omaha, as you can read in my posts from back in the day, not the least because Clarence was an awesome guy to hang out with. Looking forward to seeing him again.

Speaking of people I hope google themselves, Lauren Gunderson also got in. Lauren wrote one of my favorite plays I ever read as a member of a literary committee that shall remain nameless. But I shall name the play, Baby M, because I really dug it. Maybe I’ll finally meet her when I’m drinking a beer with Clarence (unless he’s too big a hotshot to be seen with a BAPF groupie).

Anyway, enough about me. Here’s the whole list:

Full Length Plays

  • Clarence Coo, Beautiful Province (Belle Province)
  • Jackie Siblies Drury, We Are Proud to Present a Presentation …
  • Lauren Gunderson, Rock Creek: Southern Gothic
  • Amelia Roper, Hong Kong Dinosaur

BASH! (Bay Area Short Plays)

  • Chinaka Hodge
  • Kate E. Ryan

The festival runs July 22-31; more here.

