New York (Part 2)

A couple posts ago, I was talking about shows I saw in New York; specifically, That Championship Season on Broadway. That was on Wednesday, mere minutes after I checked in to my hotel, ran by the TKTS booth, and got in the always-short “Plays Only” line.

Thursday night, I saw Good People by David Lindsay-Abaire, also on Broadway, also with big name stars (Frances McDormand, Tate Donovan and Estelle Parsons). It’s in previews, but I’m going to take the liberty to “review” it early (even though no one has fallen to their death) by saying this: I thought it was terrific. Takes place in South Boston and the writing is fantastic. I just read that it’s been extended even though it hasn’t opened yet, and I’m hoping it gets published because I really want to check out the script in depth.

On Friday, I went down to the Village to the Cherry Pit Theatre to check out Thinner Than Water by Melissa Ross. It’s a LAByrinth production, which I guess makes it technically off-Broadway, but because I ended the evening in an after hours jazz club, I prefer to think of it as being way more downtown than it was. The theatre is one of those teeny black box, pillars-blocking-your-view kind of places that I adore, not unlike Boxcar or Stage Werx except with someone from Dexter in a tiny role. And it starred Lisa Joyce (who I saw in Red Light Winter back at Barrow Street whenever that was) as one of the main characters. Once again, it was about families and class struggles and people pissed off at the world, and I really dug it.

Saturday, I checked my bag at the hotel and caught the show closest to my hotel before jumping on LIRR to JFK: Gruesome Playground Injuries by Rajiv Joseph. Interestingly enough (to me), this was the play that Rajiv was working on when I interviewed him for an upcoming article. And while it didn’t have the same theme as the other plays I saw, it did have someone else from Dexter: Jennifer Carpenter, who plays Dexter’s cop sister. Also Pablo Schreiber, who the internet says is best know for The Wire but who is probably better known by readers of this blog from Mr. Marmalade, Dying City, reasons to be pretty or Awake and Sing. They played characters at different ages, from 8 to 38, in a beautifully nonlinear storyline. Stellar actors, stellar acting.

I should also mention that right before I arrived, there was a blizzard, and right before I left, there was a cold front, but while I was there, there were record-breaking highs. And I shook hands with David Ives! (More on that later.) So the whole thing was pretty magical.

(Disclosure: Paid for ’em all; mostly half-price.)

