New York (Part 1)

Last week, I was in New York, and I took the opportunity to cram in as many plays as I could see. Since William Shatner and Priceline saw fit to give me a hotel about five steps from the TKTS booth, I ended up seeing more Broadway and off-Broadway stuff than I usually do.

I didn’t realize how many of these shows would be packed with stars and/or people I recognized from TV, although I should have known since that’s pretty much the only way dramas get done on Broadway any more.

The first thing that caught my eye was That Championship Season, probably because it’s about guys who won a high school state basketball championship back in the day and, years later, still relive the glory, which is also how you could describe my dad. (It was 34 years from the time his team won state to the next time his high school made it to the Hall of Champions.)

And, let’s face it, I also wanted to see it because I wrote a six-male-character play set in the world of baseball, and this was a five-male-character play set in the world of basketball, and I wanted to see if there was anything I could learn.

I had no idea who was in it when I bought the tickets; I figured there’d be a star or two, but it turns out the whole cast is well-known: Brian Cox, Jim Gaffigan, Chris Noth, Keifer Sutherland and Jason Patric, who is actually the son of the playwright Jason Miller.

It’s in previews, so I won’t say much about it except that I enjoyed it and it fit the theme of both my weekend in New York and the new play I’m working on: people who grew up, ended up in different social classes, and are pissed off about how their lives turned out.

I saw three other plays on this whirlwind trip, but this is getting long, so I’ll write more later about them, and why I was in New York in the first place.

(Disclosure: Paid for it.)

