‘BODY AWARENESS’ at Hyde Park Theatre

Where have I been? Well, for the last two weeks, I was in Austin. Where, last Thursday, I saw Annie Baker’s Body Awareness at Hyde Park Theatre, my old stomping grounds. (I was Literary Manager back when it was Frontera@Hyde Park Theatre.)

I went because (a) I saw a reading of the play at the 2007 Bay Area Playwrights Festival and freaking loved it; and (b) because I want to submit Zombie Town there and I wanted to see who’s in charge of what nowadays; and (c) because Spike Gillespie wrote perhaps the best review a play could ever get:

Wait, in case I did not make myself clear: I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT. And I love it so much that I am actually going to joyfully break down and BUY tickets to see it again. I am utterly spoiled with review tickets to lots and lots of shows. This one I’m happy to pay to see a second time. And maybe a third time and a fourth time. Kenny– if you’re reading this (and I know you are) YOU HAVE GOT TO HOLD THIS ONE OVER. Please!

You should probably not read the whole thing. It will make you want to a book a Jet Blue flight immediately.

One Reply to “‘BODY AWARENESS’ at Hyde Park Theatre”

Comments are closed.