Good Things and Bad Things

One of the bad things about being a writer with a performance background is that you are the natural choice to write and deliver your mother’s eulogy.

One of the good things about being married to a writer is that you can ask her to secretly do most of the writing so that you can concentrate on getting through the reading of it.

One of the bad things about over-rehearsing the tough parts of the eulogy is that you will break down during a non-emotional part, making people wonder why you are sad about saying the word “Toronto.”

One of the good things about this whole thing is that I got to be there right before the “Is this it? This might be it” phase. I got to talk to her about regular stuff and exciting stuff. I got to be there when it became clear this was indeed it. I got to see her be ready for this whole five-year cancer thing to end. And I got to be there for my dad during his transition from caregiver to guy in empty house.

Good and bad. So it goes.

One thought on “Good Things and Bad Things

Comments are closed.