What I Hate To Miss

Since I’ll be gone for that residency, instead of a “What I Want To See” post, it has to be a “What I Hate To Miss.” Here are things that I wish I could see, and that I hope to hear about from people who actually get to see these cool-sounding shows:

  • Animals out of Paper by Rajiv Joseph at SF Playhouse (now – Feb 27). By the author of Bengal Tiger in the Baghdad Zoo. I saw a staged reading of an early draft of that one and loved it; I’d bet this one’s equally good.
  • The Position by William Bivins at PianoFight (now – Feb 28). By a really great local dude who’s had a bunch of plays staged all in a row.
  • Safe House by Geetha Reddy at SF Playhouse/Sandbox (Feb 12 – Mar 6). Originally commissioned by PlayGround. Geetha’s another local writer who more and more people are starting to discover is a phenomenal writer.
  • Mirrors In Every Corner by Chinaka Hodge at Intersection for the Arts (Feb 25 – Mar 21). From Campo Santo and The Living Word Project. “Chronicling the lives of an African American family in West Oakland as its members grapple with the birth of a daughter who is born White.” Movement, music, spoken word, Campo Santo, Intersection for the Arts: all good.

I should be back in time to catch Learn To Be Latina by Enrique Urueta at Impact Theatre and my one act in the Bay One Act Festival. I would also hate to miss those. But I don’t think I will.

One thought on “What I Hate To Miss

Comments are closed.