Theatre Bay Area Is Hosting A Free Critics Panel

TBA is hosting a free panel tomorrow night with a bunch of Bay Area theater critics: Robert Hurwitt (SF Chronicle), Karen D’Souza (SJ Merc et. al.), Robert Avila (SF Bay Guardian), Chloe Veltman (SF Weekly), Sam Hurwitt (Marin IJ), moderated by Chad Jones (Theater Dogs/Berkeley Rep).

It’s a chance to hear how to up your odds of getting a feature story or a review, to ask questions, and to report back to me what they said, since I’m not going to be able to make it. (Dammit!)

TOMORROW!! Tuesday, Oct 13, 7PM to 9PM, at Brava Theater Center. It’s FREE, but you should RSVP to Karen McKevitt. Her email is her first name followed by @theatrebayarea.org. I’m not making it a link for obvious spammy-spam related reasons.


3 Replies to “Theatre Bay Area Is Hosting A Free Critics Panel”

  1. I went to this last night and it was pretty darn enlightening.

    The main thing I felt was guilt because of all the times I’ve gotten pissy about a critic not showing up to a show.

    I am not so naive to have thought that they did not have pressures from editors and dwindling dwindling space- But I had no idea how bad it was.

    The biggest thing I took away on how to get the press to cover you is to be persistent, professional, and get them your materials (especially a good photo) early.

    Almost all of them repeated a refrain of wanting us to ask our audiences to write the papers they work for and talk about the articles they read- Whether good or bad. But I just don’t see that happening.

    I think Theatre Criticism in print is shrinking because the number of people who read their articles is shrinking. Partly because people who are reading papers is shrinking- But really because the number of people are seeing theatre is shrinking. Period. There is no way to deny this.

    There was a little discussion about moving things online. Finding ways to do that, that is. Robert Hurwit made this great point about online versus print. He said that people who read the paper can be reading an article about a movie or whatever and stumble on a theatre review and possibly become interested. When it is online, in a blog, whatever- People have to go find the article. In other words, people who are already interested in reading about theatre will be the main consumers. And new audiences will continue to shrink, etc.

    Oh boy. I wish I had some great ideas about this. But I don’t. I just know how to make good shows.

Comments are closed.