Back From Vacation

Not really vacation, more helping out M as she researched Florida for her Lonely Planet gig. But it was fantastic, for me, at least, since I wasn’t working. We went to Miami and then Key West, where I found what’s now my favorite bar in the U.S., the Green Parrot. Open air, three dollar beers, great music, friendly people. I spent quite a while talking to a guy who works as a park ranger on an island 70 miles out in the middle of the ocean, about camping and busting drug runners and what the stars are like way out there.

Walked on one of the best beaches in the country, Siesta Key. Fed mangoes to goats. Had key lime milkshakes. And discovered the truth of a quote I read from Amanda Palmer: “Off is the new on.” Being offline, with no computer, no phone calls, no text messages, was fantastic. I immediately came home and put Leechblock on my browser, deleted a bunch of time-wasting bookmarks, and dumped a bunch of crap off the TiVo. Bliss.

Since I have nothing to say, why not read a great post from someone who does. Christine Evans writes:

I don’t see my plays taking off in the American regional theatre, in all honesty, and it’s not because I can’t write. It’s because I don’t want to write what many of those theatres seem to program – simple protagonist-driven dramas with American themes and redemption at the end. There’s a view of the world embedded in that structure which I don’t share.

So, what to do? I think it involves re-defining the context of the work’s creation and reception – for oneself and for one’s audiences….

Notes to myself:
1. find and work with the people whose art excites me
2. think across media: since most art forms are more progressive than theatre, work with visual artists, musicians, designers….
5. don’t pre-judge the form. For instance the “thing” I’m starting on now might be a libretto, or a dance piece, or a sound sculpture for voices….
7. find people who are creating their own path as writers/ artists/ performers and take strength and inspiration from that, rather than focusing on the numbing “submission” route only
8. do what gives me joy and terrifies me

Editor’s note: She knows how to count. I just pulled out the ones that spoke to me personally, but there are many more here.

