What I Want To See In March

While my January and February were mostly big plays in big theaters, it looks like March is going to be a month of cool little black box theater. I might actually be able to schedule all of these shows that I’m interested in:

  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream at Impact Theatre (Feb 12 – Mar 21). Shakespeare goes New Wave in Impact’s 1980s production, selling out like crazy already.
  • Skin by Steve Yockey at Climate Theater (Feb 26 – Mar 21). A take-no-prisoners, humorous and fantastical exploration of lust and fidelity. Directed by my friend Mark Routhier!
  • The Window Age by Christopher Chen at Central Works (Feb 21 – Mar 22). A  play exploring the moment in time when modernism was reframing art, literature and the human mind. Written by my co-Magic Artist Labber Chris Chen!
  • Pure Shock Value by Matt Pelfrey at Killing My Lobster (Feb 27 – Mar 22). They don’t produce full-on plays all that often, but when they do, they’re usually awesome.
  • The Short and Happy Life by Ryan Michael Teller at Sleepwalkers Theatre (Mar 05 – Mar 28). After the incomprehensible death by combustion of his best friend, Manny tries to navigate the monsters looking to capitalize on his story. You know I love this company’s aesthetic.
  • Thom Pain (based on nothing) by Will Eno at Cutting Ball (Mar 13 – Apr 05). Five out of four stars from The New York Times, who called Eno “a Samuel Beckett for the Jon Stewart generation.”
  • Lydia by Octavio Solis at Marin Theatre (Mar 19 – Apr 12). A play that amazed audiences and had critics freaking out at its world premiere. Written by my friend Octavio Solis!
