‘T.I.C.’ by Encore Theatre

I forgot to mention that, last weekend, I finally got around to seeing Peter Nachtrieb’s T.I.C., running at the Magic Theatre (produced by Encore Theatre).

On his blog, Peter has posted some handy pullquotes, such as “packed with comic creativity” and “rib-tickling perfection” and “vastly entertaining” and “smartly staged.”

I’d also like to point out that not one but TWO reviews used the phrase “flotsam and jetsam.” Other reviewers mentioned “fillips,” “beetloaf” and “yeoman.”

That’s why I could never be a reviewer. I was just going to say it was funny.

Peter and Ken Prestininzi (the director) (who I got to meet at BAPF 2005) (Hi Ken) have assembled one of the best casts you could possibly have: Arwen Anderson, Anne Darragh, Lance Gardner, Michael Shipley, Liam Vincent and Rebecca White. You probably remember them as the best actors in any play you’ve seen in the past couple years.

Peter’s last play, boom, has played at Ars Nova, Woolly Mammoth, Seattle Rep and Cleveland Public Theatre and still hasn’t made it to San Francisco. He’s going to have more and more of his plays open around the country before making it here, so don’t miss what could be your last chance to see one of his world premieres. (Although, judging by everyone I’ve talked to, everyone I know has already seen it. But still.)

T.I.C. by Peter Sinn Nachtrieb, at Magic Theatre, Fort Mason Center, San Francisco, through Feb 1. FOUR SHOWS LEFT! Tickets at encoretheatercompany.org.

