(Glowing) Reviews Are Pouring In

Reviews of Work Eats Home, Sleepwalkers Theatre’s night of one-acts, have started showing up, and it’s a universal hit (in a universe of two).

The SF Bay Guardian says “these intelligent and playful pieces” make for “a swift, enjoyable evening,” with a special call-out to Ari Owens‘ “expert turn” in Tim Bauer’s The Magic Word.

And the SF Weekly says:

…each of the [plays] has something to recommend it, in particular the beautifully written speech that forms the bulk of Tim Bauer’s The Magic Word.

Lest you think it’s all about me, let me also point out that Ryan Beebe’s Something Warm is “borderline extraordinary”:

That extraordinariness is due in large part to Ari Owens and Ian Riley…who manage to navigate some very tricky monologues with deceptive ease, and they’re reason enough for you to spend a Friday night revisiting the workaday horrors of the previous week.

I’ve said before that Sleepwalkers is the real deal. All of their shows have blown me away, and they’re gonna be big, I tells ya. So go now and you can say you knew them back when they were producing cool little stuff before they sold out.

And go see my play. It’s beautifully written!

Work Eats Home, Sleepwalkers Theatre, through July 12 at the Phoenix Theatre, 414 Mason. Tickets are only $12 ($6 on Fridays) at sleepwalkerstheatre.com

2 Replies to “(Glowing) Reviews Are Pouring In”

  1. Tim! Remember me, it’s Anna Budd! I’m back in the Bay Area (thank god) and working as a professor of theatre arts at Canada College in Redwood City. I’m coming to see your show this Thursday! email me at budda@smccd.edu. Would love to see you and Mariella again!!
    -Anna

Comments are closed.