SF Playhouse Is Doing Aaron Loeb

Hmm, that title’s a little…. Anyway, good news. SF Playhouse apparently announced their season (although there’s no sign of it on their website yet, so I don’t have any dates). And guess who’s getting produced again?! Oh, yeah, I already gave it away.

Aaron Loeb’s First Person Shooter was a big hit last year. This December they’re gonna do his Abraham Lincoln’s Big Gay Dance Party, which I got to hear portions of during its development. Yes, it’s as good as its title. I highly recommend anyone reading this go see it (although, since 90% of the readership of this blog is also on Aaron’s Facebook friend list, I imagine you’re already planning to go).

The rest of the season includes Conor McPherson’s Shining City in October, John Guare’s Landscape of the Body in January, Tracey Scott Wilson’s The Story in March, a play to be named later, and then Dale Wasserman’s adaptation of Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

Speaking of SF Playhouse, they’re currently running Tracy Letts’ Bug. I saw the Off-Broadway version of it in New York and it blew my mind, so I wasn’t planning on seeing it again, what with so many other good shows running right now. But I just found out Gabe Marin is in the lead. Gabe is phenomenal; he was in my Best of PlayGround show I’ll Be Home For Christmas last year, as well as several of my staged readings, so I’ve seen how he works from rehearsal to performance and let me reiterate: he’s freaking awesome. Go see him!

