Berkeley Rep Announces 2008-09 Season

It’s that time of year again, when theaters start announcing their 2008-2009 seasons. The Chronicle has an article about Berkeley Rep’s season; the Marin Theatre has announced theirs (which I’ll talk about tomorrow) and I happen to know what Ross Valley Players’ season looks like because I write their season descriptions every year.

(Yes, I have an arts marketing background along with my literary management background and acting background. I’m a quadruple threat.)

Here’s what Berkeley Rep is up to, along with my own personal thoughts:

  • Yellowjackets by Itamar Moses. I had no idea Itamar Moses was a Berkeley native.
  • Joe Turner’s Come and Gone by August Wilson. I’ve always wanted to see this one. Read it; never saw it.
  • Arabian Nights by Mary Zimmerman. Seems like the tenth Zimmerman show they’ve done, but apparently it’s only the sixth. Marin Theatre’s also doing Jason Grote’s 1001, which is an awesome script, so there’ll be two Scheherazades battling it out.
  • The Vibrator Play by Sarah Ruhl. I love Sarah Ruhl, and Les Waters is directing. Hell yeah!
  • Crime and Punishment adapted by Marilyn Campbell and Curt Columbus. Directed by Sharon Ott, who used to “helm” the Rep, as the article says.
  • The Lieutenant of Inishmore by Martin McDonagh. I saw this on Broadway, but I had read it first, so I knew all the twists. Don’t read it. Just go. Les Waters is directing again, so it will probably be as big a hit as Pillowman was.
  • Yellow Face by David Henry Hwang. I’m surprised it’s the first Hwang play at the Rep. Seems overdue. Good thing for the ushers they aren’t putting it on at the same time as Yellowjackets.

By the way, did you catch the New York Times article that talks about how Berkeley Rep’s taking over New York as well? (Bridge & Tunnel, Passing Strange, and Eurydice all started there. Which means I got to see ’em before New Yorkers did. Take that, people about to see Dead Man’s Cell Phone. Lucky bastards.)

