I Got a Sloan Commission!

Are you one of the people I’ve been telling, “I have some exciting news. Check out the blog” for the past few days? Well, this is it: I got a 2007 Sloan Initiative commission!

This is the “science play” program you may have heard about, where you’re commissioned to write a play with science as an important part of the play. I’ll be working with the Magic Theatre and a science adviser to be named later, but since the play will involve computers, science and baseball, I’m hoping I can meet with a pitching coach as well as a biomechanics/computer scientist type.

You know how you set milestones for yourself to measure when you’re a “real” playwright? Like, first it’s to finish a full-length, then it’s to get anything at all produced by anyone at all, then maybe to get into a developmental festival or a new play lab or win an award or something? Well, getting a commission is a huge one for me, leaping me about three steps forward on my “real playwright” chart. So I’m psyched.

Plus, I think this play could be pretty cool, if I can pull it off. I’ve already started the research and have some leads on the baseball coach end of things. If you happen to be a scientist who works with computer modeling and the physics of baseballs traveling through wind tunnels, send an email, why don’t you?

8 thoughts on “I Got a Sloan Commission!

  1. “If you happen to be a scientist who works with computer modeling and the physics of baseballs traveling through wind tunnels, send an email, why don’t you?”

    …I had a dream about wind tunnels once. Does that count?

Comments are closed.