Link: → Script Designer by Tom Horan | HowlRound

Script Designer by Tom Horan »

Tom Horan writes on HowlRound about the differences between writing conventional plays and working as the playwright on devised work:

I split my time between conventional playwriting and devised work. So sometimes I tap out ninety pages on my laptop and look for a reading, and other times…well…I’m always trying to explain exactly what it is I do. My role as a writer in devised theater feels distinct from the work of a conventional playwright. While the skills might translate, I find the tag of playwright to be cumbersome. The joy of devised work is devising a process with collaborators and discovering our role. To free myself from the assumptions that come with being a playwright, I felt I needed a new term. So when I am doing devised work I like to call myself a “script designer.”

