Lit Crawl Was A Blast

On Saturday night, I was one of about 400 writers who performed their work as part of the San Francisco Lit Crawl:

Celebrating Litquake’s closing night, Lit Crawl is the world’s largest free literary crawl — and the wildest, most wanton literary night of the year. The Lit Crawl is the finale of the 9-day Litquake Literary Festival… With more than 85 venues (bars, bookstores, art galleries, cafés, stores… even a beekeeping supply shop with live chickens!) and 450 authors reading their work in a single night, we aim to give poetry and prose a grandstand and book lovers a binge. And best of all, it’s all free.

I performed with fellow colonists from the Portuguese Artists Colony in an event called Outliers, hosted by Caitlin Myer and featuring me, Leslie Ingham, Shanthi Sekaran, Cary Tennis and special surprise guest Benjamin Wachs.

I was a bit worried that I’d lose my voice when I first arrived. We were at Revolution Cafe, and when I got there, a jazz band was playing and a drunk girl was heckling the sax player. But things quieted down, and the show went off without a hitch. I read a short piece that was recently featured in SF Theater Pub’s Pint-Sized Festival, which I thought was fitting since it’s set in a bar (and we happened to be standing right next to a piano, which also plays a large part in the play).

If you’ve never been to Lit Crawl, I highly recommend you bookmark it for next year. Six thousand people roaming through the Mission looking for literature and cocktails. What’s not to like?

