50 Years of ‘Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf’

Today’s the 50th anniversary of “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” and the media is celebrating with interviews of Albee and recollections from people who saw the original production.

That play has always been a big deal for me, probably because reading it in high school was the first time I ever realized that plays were actually written by a person.

It’s also when I realized that you could color in some of the letters on the paperback cover and come up with a joke that seemed pretty hilarious to a freshman in an all-boy’s Catholic high school.

Broadway is celebrating with opening night of the Tracy Letts/Steppenwolf version of the play. I celebrated a couple days early by seeing Custom Made’s production of “The Play About the Baby,” and by re-reading my autographed copy of “The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?”

I like to think that the younger version of me would be impressed if I could go back and tell him that one day he’d actually meet Edward Albee in a master class for playwrights. But I’m pretty sure he’d just say, “Okay. But have you seen what you can do to the cover of the paperback? Pretty funny, huh?”

